The Guardian is doing a Discworld reread…

…and it’s a much more manageable one than reading 40 books! It looks like a tremendous amount of fun and only involves two novels. They have already chosen The Colour of Magic and are asking readers to recommend another. This is where it gets difficult. How to choose one over so many excellent reads?

I’d say Lords and Ladies would be perfect. It’s a wonderful standalone novel and smack in the middle of Pratchett’s first peak period. I love the Watch novels a great deal but part of their appeal is the continuity between them, watching the characters change through the books. What do you think?

Regardless of whether you agree with my choice or not, you should totally take part if you are reading this blog. I can’t wait to read what people think about the books which are chosen.

Jokey disclaimer: I also wrote a piece for The Guardian about the Discworld series and my own project.

3 Comments

  1. I came to Discworld via The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, and am thankful that I entered via a side door rather than through the more conventional entrance that would be The Colour of Magic. I adore Sir Terry’s books written for a younger audience (Tiffany Aching is a heroine of mine) but if I had to choose just one Discworld book that encapsulates his humanity and sense of the absurd, I’d pick Small Gods.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Hello Peeve. Recently I gave my 12-year-old granddaughter a copy of The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents and she loved it. I’ll add some more to her library soon and hopefully start her on a life-long love of Terry’s work.

      Back to the core question of this post, and I don’t know what to say. The first one I read was Thud! I loved it so much I went right back to the beginning of Discworld and have been reading them in chronological sequence ever since.

      The Watch series are my favourites, but I don’t think I can nominate just one. This is probably as much due to poor memory as any unwillingness to choose.

      Cheers, Greg.

      Like

      Reply

  2. I would recommend The Wee Free Men. Fantastically well written YA novel with an intelligent and resourceful young female heroine and tackles big issues like grief, growing up and a Pratchett classic, headology.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

